The Michigan No-Fault Act mandates insurance coverage as a prerequisite when registering your vehicle. However, many people choose not to insure their vehicle, thus are driving Uninsured. Michigan State Legislature ensures that the victims of a negligent uninsured motorist have a source of recovery for their third-party claims.
Michigan law requires minimum liability insurance coverage of $20,000 for one person and $40,000 for more than one person for bodily injury or death. However, many drivers secure their annual license plates by only paying the minimum amount of an insurance premium and then choose not to renew the next year, of which would cause their policy/coverage to lapse leaving them uninsured.
Uninsured Motorist coverage was designed to provide a source of recovery when uninsured motorists are at fault. Under this coverage, your auto insurance provider agrees to pay you the damages of which you would have been entitled to recover from the owner or operator of the uninsured vehicle if that person had been insured at the time of the accident, up to the uninsured motorist policy limits.
If you have been involved in an auto accident of which the at-fault driver was uninsured, remember that there are alternative routes. Call the law firm of Serafini, Michalowski, Derkacz and Associates for a FREE consultation and will be more than happy to speak to you about your rights!
Related Posts: An Overview of the Personal Injury Process, Why You Should Report All Drivers On Your Car Insurance, No-Fault Insurance Change, One Step Closer to Justice for Grieving Family